The Dolomites (ItalianDolomiti [doloˈmiːti]LadinDolomitesGermanDolomiten [doloˈmiːtn̩] (listen);[1] VenetianDołomiti [doɰoˈmiti]FriulianDolomitis), also known as the Dolomite MountainsDolomite Alps or Dolomitic Alps, are a mountain range located in northeastern Italy.

They form part of the Southern Limestone Alps and extend from the River Adige in the west to the Piave Valley (Pieve di Cadore) in the east. The northern and southern borders are defined by the Puster Valley and the Sugana Valley (Italian: Valsugana). The Dolomites are located in the regions of VenetoTrentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol and Friuli Venezia Giulia,[2] covering an area shared between the provinces of BellunoVicenzaVeronaTrentinoSouth TyrolUdine and Pordenone.

Other mountain groups of similar geological structure are spread along the River Piave to the east – Dolomiti d’Oltrepiave; and far away over the Adige River to the west – Dolomiti di Brenta (Western Dolomites). A smaller group is called Piccole Dolomiti (Little Dolomites), located between the provinces of Trentino, Verona, and Vicenza.

The Dolomiti Bellunesi National Park and many other regional parks are located in the Dolomites. In August 2009, the Dolomites were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *